The club was almost certainly formed as “Trinity” in 1898. The name change to “Knaresborough Association Football Club” took place in 1900 and, apart from the two World War periods, a club has existed in the town.

Much of its early football was played in the York & District League before joining the Northern League in 1909. After only two seasons, escalating costs forced a move back to the York League and Harrogate League through the 1920’s and 30’s.

At the outbreak of World War Two, the club, like many at the time, folded temporarily, and it was as Knaresborough Rovers that they reformed in 1946. The Harrogate League was the first competition played until the early 1950’s when the York League was joined once more.

The club again reverted to the Harrogate League when they set up a Premier Division and that title was won three years in succession from 1965 to 1967. After two more runners-up seasons, the club entered the West Yorkshire League for six further years which saw a title in Division Two before promotion from Division One for two seasons in the Premier Division before another return to the Harrogate League.

From 1976 to 1993, the club continued in the Harrogate League but ambitions were high and the West Yorkshire League was re-joined in 1993. The League Cup was won in the first season, but the league title had to wait until 2009.

In 2010, the club won the West Riding County F.A. Challenge Cup final for the first and only time and then made the decision to invest in ground developments to upgrade to Step Six standards, and were elected to the Northern Counties East League in 2012.

The club built steadily, the early highlight being the triumph in the League Cup in 2014 when Eccleshill United were defeated at Bradford City’s Valley Parade ground.

2017-18 saw progression for the club when they reached the 2nd round of the FA Vase for the first time and went on to take the NCEL Division One title.

2018 saw the club’s best FA Cup run as they reached the Second Qualifying round only to bow out to Workington.

Several management changes have occurred along with further development of the ground as the club look to consolidate its position in the Non-League pyramid.

Club Honours
West Yorkshire League: Prem Div - 2008/09, Div 2 - 1969/70, Premier Alliance Div - 1998/99 2002/03, Alliance Div 1 - 2010/11, League Cup - 1993/94, Div 1 League Cup - 1970/71; Harrogate and District League: Prem Div - 1964/65 1965/66 1966/67, League Cup - 1965/66 1967/68; Harrogate and District FA: Whitworth Cup - 1907/08 1912/13 1920/21 1922/23 1925/26 1926/27 1927/28 1929/30 1932/33 1933/34 1936/37 1958/59 1964/65 1968/69 1971/72 1973/74 1988/89 1994/95 2005/06 2007/08, Hulme Cup - 1975/76 1984/85 1987/88 1991/92 1998/99 2003/04 2009/10, Charity Cup - 1931/32 1933/34 1934/35 1964/65 1967/68 1968/69 1980/81 1991/92; West Riding FA: Challenge Cup - 2009/10, Challenge Trophy - 2010/11.

Clubs Current Teams & Leagues
First Team - Northern Counties East League Premier Division
Second Team - West Yorkshire Premier Division
Women's Team - West Riding County FA Division Two